Austria - ETIAS : European Travel Information and Authorisation System

ETIAS for Austria – Visa exemption of Austria

After experiencing several terrorism, and refugee movements, EU is now strengthening the security on country borders nowadays.
Today, visitors to Austria do not need a visa to visit Austria because the most of visitors enter Austria by land from other EU countries. As passport is only needed when visiting by air, tourists may enter Austria without a valid passport. Within Schengen countries, visitors are allowed to stay in the area for maximum 90 days.

ETIAS is expected to strengthen the security of immigration. As the visitors will register their information beforehand, immigration office is allowed to refer details of visitors and judge the entrance eligibility.

ETIAS stands for “Europe Travel Information and Authorization System”, and it is much simpler than getting a tourist visa.
Applicants simply need to fill in the form and pay online.

Is an ETIAS required when visiting Austria?

If you hold passport issued by one of EU countries, you do not need to present any documentation to visit other countries. If your nationality is one of visa-exemption countries of Austria, you may be required of an ETIAS visa.

Attractions of Austria

Austria is famous for its music, art, and architecture. Not to mention, its beautiful pasture and quaint cityscape.

Perhaps the most well-known tourist attraction is Schonbrunn Palace. The palace was built as a vacation house for the House of Habsburg. Being true to its name, a “beautiful spring”, visitors may enjoy beautiful scenery such as formal gardens; a labyrinth; the Palm House filled with tropical and exotic plants and butterflies; an Alpine garden with a farmhouse; Europe’s oldest zoo; and the Classical Gloriette, a grand marble structure crowning a hill above the gardens at Schonbrunn Palace.

Is Austria part of Schengen area?

It is hard to tell the difference between EU and Schengen areas.
There are 28 countries that are members of EU. EU is originally formed for trading purposes whereas the Schengen area is enacted to unite the standard of visa requirements.

Visitors with Schengen visas may stay wherever country they wish within 90 days. It is very important for visitors to be aware whether the visa covers the eligibility to visit and stay in a country of destination. Some countries, like UK, is not a member of Schengen.